Guan Eng’s Road to Parliament

  • Categories

  • Archives

Get to Know Guan Eng

First elected as a Member of Parliament for Kota Melaka in 1986 defeating ex-Malaysian football captain Soh Chin Aun with a majority of 17,606 votes.

Re-elected in the 1990 general elections with a majority of 14,586 and re-elected for a consecutive third term in the 1995 general elections with a majority of 4,981 votes. First person  to be elected for three consecutive terms in Kota Melaka as well as the first Melaka High School old boy to represent his school in his own constituency.

Detained without trial under the Internal Security Act (ISA) on 27.10.1987 and released 18 months later on 19.04.1989. First to be detained under Operation Lalang and last to be released.

Appointed as the DAP Socialist Youth Chairman in 1989 and was elected to the post in 1992. Also elected as DAP Deputy Secretary-General in 1995.

Charged under the Sedition Act and Printing Presses & Publications Act in connection with the moral scandal of former UMNO Youth President and Melaka Chief Minister Tan Sri Rahim Tamby Chik. Convicted and sentenced to two concurrent 18-month jail terms from 25 August 1998.

Elected as DAP Secretary-General in 2004


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: